Some of the questions have more value than others. Recently I was having a casual discussion with our set of children at Goregaon facility around how do public schools run since all these kids are from public schools and their quality of learning is really poor.

Last Saturday one of my students asked me, ‘Why should we vote for our politicians when our situation doesn’t change either ways’. I was really happy to hear this question since very few people tend to get that in their minds. In slum communities politicians take the dwellers for granted and lure them by cheap sops like a bottle of liquor, free health checkup, free specs etc.  If children are able to see through the intent of doing these feel good initiatives, they would always emerge as more informed citizens and thereby act more responsibly.

I preferred not to answer that question as I believe it was important for it to remain unanswered till she reaches a stage (at present she is 12) when she herself gets perplexed and may be try to figure out the alternative herself. I am confident about her capacity to do something really concrete for her community as she grows in life.  And for that to happen its critical that she takes the effort to figure out answers from within her.

Some questions actually have immense capacity to shape our minds.

